Vibrations from China

Winter is very dreary in China. My scooter is my primary means of transportation and riding it in the cold is painful. Many days the pollution levels are extremely high and the air is cloudy with a metallic smell. Our school doesn’t have central heating – just ceiling units for the classrooms – so sometimes the hallways manage to feel even colder than it is outside. I’ve mustered through the cold with lots of hot water, massages, trips to hot springs, and staying in bed with my electric blanket. On a recent afternoon spent under the covers I put together a playlist of music I’ve been discovering in China. Lots of dark, experimental electronic music, but also some improvisational music with the Chinese banjo (sanxian), free jazz, and traditional Uyghur music.

Leave a comment